Don’t Be Afraid To Try New Things

In a recent blog post I mentioned that I would be taking a family trip down the California coast, and that I would give surfing a try for the first time.  Well, our trip has now come and gone, and I wanted to let you know how my first surfing experience went.  I took a lesson from Van Curaza at Pismo Beach and it was awesome!

Van has over 40 years of surfing experience and clearly knows his stuff.  The majority of the lesson actually took place on the beach, rather than in the ocean, as he taught me the basic fundamentals of surfing (where to put my feet, how to lay on the board, how to stand on the board, etc.).  It all seemed pretty straight-forward, and I was fairly confident that once I got out in to the water I would be able to replicate what we were practicing on the sand.  Yeah…that didn’t happen.

Getting out in to the water seemed to have an amnesia effect on me, as if I had suddenly forgotten everything that we had been practicing on the sand.  After repeatedly falling off the board and becoming increasingly discouraged and frustrated, I finally caught a wave and was able to stand up without falling.  Van told me before we started that there’s nothing like catching a wave; he couldn’t have been more right.  And while I couldn’t really do much in the way of tricks once I got up, just being able to ride the wave made it worth it.

I’m glad that I decided to get out of my comfort zone a little bit and try something I had never done before.  And that’s my challenge to you, to pick one thing this summer that  you’ve never done before and give it a try.  Life’s full of amazing adventures that we can experience if we’re willing to try new things.

One thought on “Don’t Be Afraid To Try New Things

  1. Pingback: Bill Walsh: The Innovator | Becoming

Leave a Reply

